United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

December 6, 2022

The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Majority Leader Schumer and Minority Leader McConnell:

We write to you today regarding the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), which would expressly prohibit discrimination on the basis of sex in the United States Constitution. For over 250 years, American women have been denied the same legal rights and protections as men under the law. This is unacceptable. Women have waited too long for our nation to fulfill its promise of equality. We urge you to bring H.J.Res.17, a resolution that would facilitate the ratification of the ERA, to the floor for consideration before the end of the 117th Congress.

When Congress first passed the ERA in 1972, it required three-fourths of the states to ratify the amendment within seven years. By 1977, 35 states had ratified the ERA and in 1978, falling short of the required 38 states for adoption, Congress extended the time limit an additional three years. We are proud that in January 2020 Virginia became the 38th and final state needed to ratify the ERA.

We believe that there should be no time limit on equality. The ERA time limit was contained in a joint resolution's proposing clause, not in the actual text of the amendment, and Congress has previously voted to extend the time for ERA ratification. H.J.Res.17 would remove this arbitrary time limit entirely and ensure that the final ratifying states are counted.

The required 38 states have now ratified the ERA. The House has passed legislation eliminating the time limit for ratification. Now it is up to the Senate to remove any obstacles to certifying the ERA as the 28th amendment. More than a century after women fought for and earned the right to vote, our progress as a nation is incomplete unless all women are able to achieve freedom and equality. We urge you to immediately move to consider H.J.Res.17 and bring the resolution to a final vote on the Senate floor.

Sincerely,

>1<u>[.</u>

Tim Kaine United States Senator

R Wines

Mark R. Warner United States Senator

i Wis

Jennifer Wexton Member of Congress

٢,

Elaine G. Luria Member of Congress

Abigail Davis Spanberger

Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

nno Gerald E. Connolly

Member of Congress