Skip to content

Kaine & Colleagues Introduce Bipartisan Bill to Ban U.S. Recognition of Any Ukrainian Territory Annexed by Russia

WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Senators Tim Kaine (D-VA), Marco Rubio (R-FL), and Dick Durbin (D-IL), as well as a bipartisan group of their colleagues, introduced the Non-Recognition of Russian Annexation of Ukrainian Territory Act, which would require U.S. policy to not recognize any Russian claim of sovereignty over any portion of the internationally recognized territory of Ukraine and prohibit any federal department or agency from taking any action or extending any assistance that implies recognition of Russian claims over Ukraine.

The bill’s introduction comes after Vladimir Putin announced plans to hold referendums in four Russian-occupied regions of Ukraine with the goal of annexing these regions into the Russian Federation. Announcing annexation is intended to paint Ukrainian efforts to restore its territorial integrity as aggressive actions against the Russian Federation so as to depress the West’s assistance to Ukraine.

“This bill underscores to the international community that the United States’ support for the Ukrainian people and Ukrainian territorial integrity remains unwavering and bipartisan. President Putin must recognize that Ukraine has the same rights as any other sovereign nation. These so-called ‘elections’ are clearly a sham, and are Putin’s most recent effort to erase Ukrainian sovereignty. They’re also yet another sign that Putin grossly underestimated Ukrainian resolve when he launched his invasion. There is only one end to this conflict – Putin must cease his war of aggression against Ukraine,” said Senator Kaine.

In addition to Kaine, Rubio, and Durbin, the bill was also cosponsored by Senators Susan Collins (R-ME), Rob Portman (R-OH), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), John Cornyn (R-TX), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Chris Coons (D-DE), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Bob Casey (D-PA), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Angus King (I-ME), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Patty Murray (D-WA), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Jack Reed (D-RI), Ed Markey (D-MA), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), and John Hickenlooper (D-CO).