Skip to content

Kaine Cosponsors Bipartisan Legislation to Ban Russian Energy Imports

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senator Tim Kaine cosponsored the bipartisan Ban Russian Energy Imports Act, which was recently introduced by Senators Joe Manchin (D-WV) and Lisa Murkowski (R-AK). The legislation would prohibit the importation of Russian crude oil, petroleum products, liquefied natural gas (LNG), and coal.

Reuters reported that in 2021, the United States imported an average of more than 20.4 million barrels of crude and refined products per month from Russia. That’s about eight percent of U.S. liquid fuel imports.

“An immediate ban on Russian energy imports will help ensure we aren’t contributing in any way to financing Russia’s unprovoked and unjustified war against Ukraine,” said Senator Kaine. “I’ll continue to work alongside my colleagues on both sides of the aisle to see this through, and explore other ways to restrict Russia’s economy.”

The bipartisan Ban Russian Energy Imports Act would declare a national emergency specifically with respect to the threat to our national security, foreign policy, and economy that exists as a result of Russian aggression against Ukraine, and would direct the President to prohibit imports of crude oil, petroleum, petroleum products, LNG, and coal from Russia. The ban would be in place during the national emergency, until that emergency and ban are formally terminated by either the President or Congress.

Full text of the legislation is available here. A summary of the legislation is available here.