Skip to content

Warner & Kaine Applaud TPS Designation for Sudan

Amid ongoing violence, Senators previously called on Biden administration to extend Temporary Protected Status for Sudan

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, U.S. Senators Mark R. Warner and Tim Kaine (both D-VA) issued the following statement on the Biden administration’s decision to extend and redesignate Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for Sudan through April 19, 2025: 

“Amid terrible violence and a tragic humanitarian crisis in Sudan, we’re pleased to see the administration act on our call for additional protections for Sudanese people already living in the United States. The decision to extend and redesignate TPS will ensure that Sudanese people will not be forced to return to a nation devastated by violence. As the conflict and humanitarian suffering persists, we remain committed to pushing for additional humanitarian aid to assist the millions of Sudanese people impacted by the critical lack of food, clean water, and medication.” 

Sens. Warner and Kaine have been strong advocates for a robust response to the conflict in Sudan. In May, they called on the administration to issue a new TPS designation for Sudanese people living in the United States. Sens. Warner and Kaine additionally led several other colleagues in advocating for increased humanitarian access and assistance for Sudan. In April, Sen. Kaine met with members of Virginia’s Sudanese community in Richmond to discuss the conflict. In July, Sen. Warner held a virtual town hall with Sudanese Virginians to discuss his continued commitment to the addressing the conflict and supporting the Sudanese-American community. There are more than 54,000 immigrants from Sudan in the United States as of 2021, according to data, with the highest concentration located in Fairfax County, VA.

Established by the U.S. Congress through the Immigration Act of 1990, TPS is a temporary, renewable program that provides relief from deportation and access to a work permit for foreign nationals from certain countries who are unable to return safely to their home country due to natural disasters, armed conflicts, or other extraordinary conditions.