January 14, 2016

Warner, Kaine Announce 2016 Virginia Delegates To Senate Youth Program

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senators Mark Warner and Tim Kaine announced the two Virginia students selected to represent the Commonwealth in the 54th Annual United States Senate Youth Program. Monica Marciano of Front Royal who attends Wakefield Country Day School and William Shangraw of Sterling who attends Potomac Falls High School will each receive a $5,000 scholarship and spend one week in March participating in the program in Washington. This year’s program will include major policy addresses by Senators and cabinet members, as well as a meeting with a Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court and other government officials.

To be chosen for the program, Monica and William were nominated by their respective high schools, completed a qualifying exam and were selected by the Virginia Department of Education based on their community service, academic performance and involvement in extracurricular activities.

“We’re excited to congratulate Monica and William, who stood out in a highly-qualified and competitive pool of Virginia’s young leaders,” said Warner and Kaine. “We’re hopeful that William and Monica’s time in Washington immersed in public policy and government will further their interest in public service careers.”

Warner and Kaine also announced Vivek Ramakrishrian of Chantilly who attends Freedom High School and Victor Hurtado of Alexandria who attends Yorktown High School as alternate delegates for the 2016 Senate Youth Program.

Students interested in next year’s Senate Youth Program can find more information on the program’s website.