January 09, 2015

Warner, Kaine Announce Virginia Delegates To Senate Youth Program

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senators Mark Warner and Tim Kaine announced the two Virginia students selected to represent Virginia in the 53rd Annual United States Senate Youth Program. David Patterson Cohn of Charlottesville High School in Charlottesville and Caleb Alexander Visser of Jamestown High School in Williamsburg will each receive a $5,000 scholarship, as well as spend a week in March participating in many enriching activities in Washington. These activities will include major policy addresses by Senators and cabinet members, as well as a meeting with a Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court.

To be chosen for the program, David and Caleb were nominated by their respective high schools, completed a qualifying exam and were selected by the Virginia Department of Education based on their community service, academic performance and involvement in extracurricular activities.

“David and Caleb have demonstrated an impressive commitment to scholarship and community service, and we are excited to welcome them to Washington in March as they pursue their interests in public policy and government,” said the Senators. “We are proud the Senate Youth Program allows us to offer a unique opportunity to outstanding high school students across Virginia who are interested in public service careers.”

Warner and Kaine also announced that Devin MacGoy of Potomac Falls and Jacob Nelson of Fairfax Station have been selected as Virginia’s alternate delegates to the Senate Youth Program.

Students interested in next year’s Senate Youth Program can find more information on the program’s website.